About Us

The Canton Student Loan Foundation provides low-interest student loans for Stark County graduates. Our founders wanted to make earning a degree a reality for local students. Today, our donors, Board members and staff carry on this tradition by developing, maintaining and loaning a revolving pool of funds. As students pay back their loans, these funds go back into the pool. We loan these funds again, and the work of the Foundation continues.

The Foundation is under the conscientious oversight of our dedicated Board members. Our staff, executive director Kimberly  Leggett, financial director Lori Lapp, and administrative assistant, Alice Haught, guide applicants and recipients through the loan process.

Board Officers

Michael Gallina, President 
Lee Ann Thorn, Past President 
Joann Smith, Vice President 
Kathleen Poporad, Secretary 
George Downes, Treasurer


James Abbott

Mary Beddell

Robert Belden

Christopher Burr

Samuel Dorto, Jr.

Dennis Fulmer

Mary Beth Green

Lynn Hamilton

William Hoover

James Ladson

Andrew Luntz

Judith Malinowski

​Susan March

​​Gretchen Tucker

Amber Wallace

Joyce Niffenegger, Emerita

Robert Henderson, Honorary

George May, Jr., Honorary